California DUI and Drunk Driving Arrest
"Don't ever plead guilty to a DUI without at least consulting an attorney first - there are too many defenses to just plead guilty." Police Sergeant Jack Anderson, Garden Grove Police Department, in speaking to traffic offenders at Orange County Superior Court, Harbor Justice Center, Newport Beach.
DUI charges are the most common criminal charges filed against individuals in the State of California (not including simple traffic tickets, which are technically "criminal" violations). Even for a first offense, the penalties can be serious-including license suspension, fines of almost $2,000, mandatory attendance at State or DMV Approved alcohol programs, and potential jail time. In addition, a DUI conviction stays on your DMV record for at least 7 years, and may result in higher insurance premiums. Furthermore, you may become ineligible for credit, and even lose your employment. If you have prior convictions, stopped for speeding, or had an accident while driving under the influence, the penalties may be far worse.
Estimate your blood alcohol level using our Blood Alcohol Calculator.
The information on this page is specific to California. If you are in another state, your laws may differ, and we invite you to consult our DUI Attorney Directory for attorneys outside of California.
We also have specific pages for information and resources related to: