Hit and Run
If you have an arrest for a hit and run accident (leaving the scene of an accident), our law firm can help you.
If you leave the scene of an accident, even if you did not cause the accident, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or felony if a person or animal was injured or property was damaged. The type of charge depends on the circumstances, on whether a person or animal was seriously injured, and on whether previous similar convictions exist. If you leave the scene of an accident and an injured person dies, you may be charged with vehicular homicide or manslaughter. If you leave the scene of an accident and an injured animal dies, you may be charged with animal abuse.
The punishments for leaving the scene of an injury accident, even if you did not cause the accident, can include large fines and jail or prison time and suspension of your driver's license. In certain cases, the State of California may also take away your car.
Punishment for leaving the scene of an accident that damages only property can include a fine of up to $1000 and six months in jail, even if you did not cause the accident. In certain cases, the State of California may also take away your car.
Any driver involved in an accident involving injury to another person, or in death, is generally required to stop and to provide information concerning the driver's identity and to render aid to any persons injured in the accident (California Vehicle Code § 20001(a)). A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death can have severe consequences for the fleeing driver. If any injuries to the other person are "serious permanent injuries" or if any other person has died as a result of the accident, the driver faces a minimum sentence of 90 days imprisonment in the county jail, and a maximum sentence of up to four years imprisonment in the state prison. The driver also faces fines of up to $10,000.00 and the revocation of his or her driver's license for one year. It is important to note that the driver is exposed to these penalties whether the driver was "at fault" for causing the accident or not.
For all of these charges, alternative sentences may be given in certain cases. Because the potential penalties are severe, it is important to obtain the best criminal defense attorney available, as soon as possible to obtain the best results under the particular facts and law of your case. Your attorney's knowledge of defenses, sentencing guidelines, and alternative sentencing options will be vital to obtaining the best outcome under the law and facts of your case.
If you or a loved one values saving your license and protecting against a serious criminal record, get professional representation from an experienced attorney immediately to protect you or your loved one.