Penalties for California DUI Cases

  • ABOUT OUR FIRM

    Robert L. Miller and Associates is a law firm dedicated to clients. We have handled thousands of cases, and have winning results. Learn more about our firm and why it’s the best choice.

    Read more

  • CASE RESULTS

    DUI Dismissals and Case Results
    See some of the many cases we have won at trial or through motions, negotiations, or strategy. Learn why we are so successful in protecting clients

    Read more

  • CONTACT US NOW...

    If you have been arrested, don’t delay. You have only 10 days to save your license. Contact us today for a FREE consultation, and find out about all of your options, and all of your rights, and how to protect yourself.

    Read more

Penalties for California DUI Cases

Penalties for California DUI Cases

being arrested for dui is traumatic

Penalties for California DUI Cases depend on the facts

Penalties for California DUI Cases depend on whether or not it is a first time DUI, second time DUI, third time DUI, or fourth DUI or beyond.  In Orange County DUI cases, over 97% of DUI cases last year were misdemeanors.  However, if someone was injured, that could make a DUI a felony.

Penalties for California DUI Cases by Priors

For a first time DUI, the range of punishment is from three years to five years probation, fines and fees from just under $2000, to over $5000 in fines and fees, zero jail time to six months maximum jail, and attendance at an alcohol school, which ranges from 3 months to 9 months, depending on the alcohol level.

For a second time DUI, the range of punishment is from three years to five years probation, fines and fees from just under $2000, to over $5000 in fines and fees, 48 hours jail time to one year (12 months) maximum jail, and attendance at an 18 month alcohol school.

For a third time DUI, the range of punishment is from three years to five years probation, fines and fees from just under $2000, to over $5000 in fines and fees, from 120 days minimum, to one year maximum jail, and attendance at an alcohol school of 18 or 30 months.  A third time offender also has a revocation of driving privileges for three years.

For a fourth time DUI, which is a felony, the range of punishment is from 16 months, up to to three years, in state prison, fines and fees from just under $2000, to over $5000 in fines and fees, and attendance at an alcohol school, as well as designation as a habitual traffic offender.

Contact us now – Let’s Get Started.

Don’t delay contacting us.  We can start you on a plan of action today that will help your court date later. The DMV needs action within 10 days of your arrest.  Contact us today.

Our Mission: "To deliver outstanding client service, to provide fulfilling careers and professional satisfaction for our people, and to achieve financial success so that we can reward ourselves, grow, and give back to the community."